THE WORLD TO COME | THE WORLD TO COME – Director’s Note

THE WORLD TO COME – Director’s Note

Tilman Hecker (director) und Dominikus Müller (dramatic adviser)

“Practices of storytelling matter”, according to anthropologist Marilyn Strathern – they have
substance – real matter. Because they “make the world”, and literally determine how we see and hear, how we decode and interpret and how we act upon our insights.

 

The Christian narrative of salvation is just such a story, a text of world understanding and
world creation – even where it has supposedly been abandoned in secular contemporary life. This story obeys a specific narrative arc with a concrete expectation of the future. At the end of the world there are the horrors of the apocalypse, the return of Christ, and heaven. Or hell. It is a regime that separates, divides, judges.

 

Composing the “Missa solemnis”, Beethoven dealt intensively with the Christian liturgy and its canonical text, which has been handed down and consolidated over the centuries. He set it tomusic, interpreting and editing the story as he did so. The focus is on the text and its message. As a consequence, the “Missa solemnis” lacks the development from a thematic cell otherwise typical of Beethoven’s work. Instead, new motifs constantly emerge and rarely linger in the ear.

 

The starting point of the concert installation THE WORLD TO COME is Beethoven’s “Missa solemnis”. Specifically, the title refers to the powerful fugue that Beethoven wrote about the four Latin words “Et vitam venturi saeculi” – the life of the world to come. No composer before or after Beethoven has ever written such a complex, extensive and highly dramatic fugue based on those words – completely different from his “Mass in C-major”, completely different from e.g. the angel’s voice in Haydn’s “Nelson Mass” or the setting that creates an almost fleeting impression in Bach’s “Mass in B-minor”. Consequently, the message is completely different. We take this climax of polyphony as inspiration to propose a new, expanded polyphony, in which – just as with Beethoven – one must be aware of and secure in one’s own voice but simultaneously listen to all the other voices.

 

For this installation we invited five artists from different musical traditions to explore the
“Missa solemnis”: Birke J. Bertelsmeier, Colin Self, Mohammad Reza Mortazavi, Moor Mother, and Planningtorock. Rather like a string game – loosely based on Donna Haraway, who speaks of “sf”: string figures, science fiction, speculative feminism – we have placed this text and its message, as well as Beethoven’s interpretation firmly into the hands of our guests.

 

It was important to us to extend an open invitation, and one that was kept open during the
course of the work. Because we are convinced that the world to come cannot be found in an elaborated vision, a scene projected into the future, for which it is only necessary to fill certain roles. The future is a political category of the present in as much as it must be negotiated – here and now and under the current conditions. And often enough, it becomes clear that we rarely speak of the same future. Continuous conversation, reciprocal study, listening, awareness of one’s own voice together with tolerance for
other opinions and a sensitivity to other stories are vital, therefore. The present is polyphonic through and through. We need only to admit it.

 

THE WORLD TO COME is all about bringing together different musical voices and traditions that can merge but also – where necessary – stand side by side as equals in contradiction, sometimes also revealing power structures and hierarchies. Equally, different publics with different listening habits and sensitivities should also mix. In the end, the world to come is created in such a clash of many worlds; in the fact that no one avoids difficulties; in the fact that we “let the world come” in all of its radical worldliness – and that history and stories are told differently. In the beginning, in the words of D.H. Lawrence, there was not the word, but a chirrup.

More about THE WORLD TO COME
Concerts
THE WORLD TO COME
Kampagnenmotiv Young Wook Kim

THE WORLD TO COME | THE WORLD TO COME – Director’s Note

THE WORLD TO COME – Director’s Note

Tilman Hecker (Regisseur) und Dominikus Müller (Dramaturg)

»Practices of storytelling matter«, sagt die Anthropologin Marilyn Strathern: Techniken, Praktiken des Geschichtenerzählens zählen. Sie haben Substanz. Und zwar, weil sie »Welt machen«, weil sie ganz buchstäblich bestimmen, wie wir die Welt sehen und auch hören, wie wir sie entschlüsseln und lesen. Und wie wir daraufhin handeln.

 

Eine solche Geschichte, ein solcher Text der Welterfassung und Weltgestaltung ist die christliche Heilserzählung – auch da, wo man sie in der säkularen Gegenwart vermeintlich hinter sich gelassen hat. Diese Erzählung gehorcht einem bestimmten narrativen Bogen mit einer konkreten Zukunftserwartung. Am Ende der Welt stehen die Schrecken der Apokalypse, die Wiederkehr Christi, der Himmel. Oder die Hölle. Es ist ein Regime, das trennt, teilt, urteilt.

 

Beethoven hat sich für die »Missa solemnis« intensiv mit der christlichen Liturgie und ihrem kanonischen, über Jahrhunderte tradierten und verfestigten Text auseinandergesetzt, hat ihn vertont und musikalisch interpretiert, darin auch editiert. Dieser Text und seine Botschaft stehen im Vordergrund. Daher fehlen in der »Missa solemnis« die für Beethoven ansonsten so typischen Entwicklungen aus einer thematischen Zelle. Stattdessen tauchen fortlaufend neue Motive auf, die selten im Ohr hängenbleiben.

 

Die Konzertinstallation THE WORLD TO COME nimmt ihren Ausgang von Beethovens »Missa solemnis«. Konkret bezieht sich der Titel auf die gewaltige Fuge, die Beethoven über die vier lateinischen Worte »Et vitam venturi saeculi« geschrieben hat – das Leben der zukünftigen Welt. Kein Komponist vor oder nach Beethoven hat auf diese Worte eine derartig komplexe, ausführliche und hochdramatische Fuge komponiert – völlig anders als noch in seiner »CDur-Messe«, ganz anders als vielleicht die Engelsstimme in Haydns »Nelson-Messe« oder die fast flüchtig anmutende Vertonung in Bachs »h-Moll Messe«, entsprechend mit völlig anderer Aussage. Wir nehmen diesen Höhepunkt der Polyphonie als Inspiration, eine neue, erweiterte Polyphonie vorzuschlagen, bei der man sich ebenso wie bei Beethoven der eigenen Stimme bewusst und sicher sein, dabei aber gleichzeitig auf alle anderen Stimmen hören muss.

 

Für diese Installation haben wir fünf Künstler*innen aus verschiedenen musikalischen Traditionen eingeladen, sich mit der »Missa solemnis« auseinanderzusetzen: Birke J. Bertelsmeier, Colin Self, Mohammad Reza Mortazavi, Moor Mother und Planningtorock. Gewissermaßen wie ein Fadenspiel – frei nach Donna Haraway, bei der von »sf« die Rede ist: String Figures (Fadenspiele), Science-Fiction, spekulativer Feminismus – haben wir unseren Gästen diesen Text und seine Botschaft sowie die Auslegung durch Beethoven in die Hand gelegt.

 

Es war uns wichtig, dass die Einladung offen erfolgt – und im Verlauf der Arbeit offengehalten wird. Denn wir sind überzeugt davon, dass sich die kommende Welt nicht in einer ausgestalteten Vision findet, einer in die Zukunft projizierten Szene, für die man dann nur noch bestimmte Rollen besetzen muss. Zukunft ist eine politische Kategorie der Gegenwart, insofern sie – hier und jetzt und unter den aktuellen Bedingungen – verhandelt werden muss. Und dabei wird oft genug klar, dass wir nur selten von der gleichen Zukunft sprechen. Das fortwährende Gespräch, das gegenseitige Studium, das Zuhören, das Bewusstsein um die eigene Stimme bei gleichzeitiger Toleranz für andere Meinungen und eine Sensibilität für andere Geschichten sind also zentral. Die Gegenwart ist durch und durch polyphon. Man muss sie nur zulassen.

 

Es geht bei THE WORLD TO COME darum, verschiedene musikalische Stimmen und Traditionen zusammenzubringen, die sich mischen können, die – wo nötig – aber auch gleichberechtigt im Widerspruch nebeneinanderstehen und mitunter Machtgefüge und Hierarchien aufzeigen. Ebenso sehr sollen sich verschiedene Öffentlichkeiten mit unterschiedlichen Hörgewohnheiten und Sensibilitäten mischen. Am Ende entsteht die kommende Welt in diesem Aufeinandertreffen vieler Welten; darin, dass man um Schwierigkeiten keinen Bogen macht; darin, dass man »die Welt« in ihrer radikalen Diesseitigkeit »kommen lässt« – und Geschichte(n) anders erzählt. Am Anfang, heißt es bei D.H. Lawrence, war eben kein Wort, sondern ein Zwitschern.

 

Mehr zu THE WORLD TO COME
Termine
THE WORLD TO COME
Kampagnenmotiv Young Wook Kim